FN FNX-9 Handgun Review

7 Comments

Filed under Firearms

7 responses to “FN FNX-9 Handgun Review

  1. Ferris2son

    Good review.
    Slide release is probably better reserved as a slide lock. Racking would be the preferred method of slide release.

  2. Redchrome

    Great review! Always a pleasure to watch your material.

    Some thoughts which occurred to me:

    At about 3:07 you said ‘safety’ when I think you meant ‘mag release’.

    I noticed when you were doing the speed reloads that it looked you didn’t put your finger vertically along the front of the magazine, the way I was taught to do at Gunsite. Are you familiar with that method of gripping the magazine and have abandoned it for some reason, or were you just taught differently?

    (On a related note, at Gunsite they teach you not to use the slide stop and just grab the slide over the top with your palm and 4 fingers because it’s a gross motor skill, whereas hitting the slide stop is a finer motor skill and more likely to be bobbled under stress. I know there is substantial debate over this however).

    What do you think accounted for the rapid return from recoil when compared to the Glock and 1911? Was there anything in particular you could point to that made it feel ‘better’ to you, or was this all just a matter of the pistol fitting you well?

    • Andrew (Vuurwapen Admin)

      Yes, I’ve definitely been trained to do the “index finger on the front of the mag” thing – but it’s not how I started out shooting handguns (in the military, nobody taught me the “correct” way), and every time I’ve tried – or been forced to try – it, I don’t find it to be any faster or more reliable for me. Others may have different luck.

      As to the slide stop/release/thingy vs. “over the top” or “slingshot” speed reloads, I’ve been to courses that advocated both, my favorite instructor told us to use the one that worked best for us. I’ve found that going over the top takes a little extra time, time you don’t necessarily need to spend. Obviously I fumbled my very first attempt, but I would train around that and would probably use my weak hand thumb as I was taught while shooting a 1911. If I consistently had problems, I would seek out an alternate method, but I don’t think that’s absolutely necessary with the pistol as is.

      The recoil spring feels stronger than either the 1911 or the Glock, and a faster slide velocity on the forward movement could help bring the pistol down faster – it could also cause the weapon to bobble a little as you see in the video – something to take note of and train around. I think the FNX clip in that video was either the first or second round I put through it.

  3. Gary Foster

    Nice review. Well done. I am increasingly becoming interested in this pistol and your review only reinforced that.

  4. Oscar

    Thanks for a great review. I too have been looking at purchasing another 9mm and really like the features of the FNX9. How would you say it compares to the Smith and Wesson M&P9 in terms of features, functionality and accuracy as well as concealed carry?

    Thanks,

    Oscar

    • Oscar

      I used to own several M&Ps, but sold them because S&W would not sell me the spare parts I wanted, and their CS rep was rude to me in person. However, as to your question…

      I think the trigger of the FNX9 is superior to the stock trigger of the M&P9 Pro I used to own. Both in terms of initial pull and reset.

      I like the ability to carry cocked and locked – yes, the M&P has an optional manual safety, but I wasn’t in love with its exact placement. Neither of my M&Ps had manual safeties, but I did use M&Ps with manual safeties that other people owned. However, I did not find the lack of a manual safety to be a problem. I simply like the concept of cocked and locked.

      In terms of accuracy, they would probably be neck and neck. In terms of practical accuracy, I was able to shoot the FNX better because the trigger agreed with me.

      The FNX does have pretty agressive grip texture, though you can knock that down a bit with sandpaper if you want. My M&Ps were rust buckets, as many are – I can’t say how the FNX did because I didn’t have an IWB holster for it. Its size would lead me to believe that it could be easily and comfortably concealed.

      Hope this helps

      Andrew

  5. Derek Jaco

    A quick question about holsters…I’ve owned (2) FNP’s in 9mm and 40s&w. Will the FNX fit the same holster(s) as the FNP’s? I used a Bladetech paddle holster for my FNP’s.
    Thanks

    Derek

Leave a Reply

